Awards evening celebrates outstanding achievements in Lowestoft

Lowestoft Sixth Form College awards evening winners.

Lowestoft Sixth Form College awards evening winners. - Credit: Archant

More than 200 students, staff, families and sponsors gathered for the annual Lowestoft Sixth Form College awards evening.

Lowestoft Sixth Form College awards evening.

Lowestoft Sixth Form College awards evening. - Credit: Archant

Outstanding achievements, effort, potential and community work were rewarded at the ceremony, with guests being treated to live music throughout the evening as well as refreshments including a chocolate fountain.

The guest speaker at the event was Samuel Fenn; a former student who is in his first year of a Maths degree at Durham University having left L6FC last summer.

The awards were sponsored by Atkins - designers and architects of the college, Morgan Sindall - the construction and regeneration group that built the college, Beach Radio, Harrod UK, Park View Financial Planning Ltd and Lowestoft Sixth Form Corporation.

The Award for Science was awarded to Emma Connolly and the Award for Professionalism went to Sophie MacMillan.

You may also want to watch:

The Community Award was given to Rachel Johansson and Joseph January was presented with The Progress Award.

The winner of the Principal's Award was Harriet Alder.

Most Read

Other award winners in various categories were Danielle Story and Paul Youngs (Creative Media), Kate Thompson (Visual Arts), Georgina Hall (Performing Arts), Chloe Pallett (Social Science), Nathan Russell (Sport), Karl Casteleiro (Technology), Danielle Masterson (Business & Political Science), Chantelle Longthorne (Endeavour Award) and Eva Maher (English).

The College is holding an Open Evening on Wednesday March 11 from 6pm to 8.30pm.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus