Leader and chairman elected for East Suffolk shadow authority

PUBLISHED: 14:45 05 June 2018

Waveney District Council's Riverside headquarters.  Picture: James Bass

Waveney District Council's Riverside headquarters. Picture: James Bass

Archant Norfolk © 2015

A new shadow authority to oversee the formal creation of the new East Suffolk Council has elected its first leader.

The role of the authority, formed of all 90 members of Waveney District and Suffolk Coastal District Councils, is to ensure a smooth transition before East Suffolk Council officially comes into existence on April 1, 2019.

Leader of Waveney District Council, councillor for Worlingham, Mark Bee, was elected leader, with leader of Suffolk Coastal District, councillor for Orford and Eyke, elected deputy leader.

Suffolk Coastal councillor for Peasenhall and Yoxford, Stephen Burroughes, was elected chairman of the authority, with Waveney District councillor for Halesworth, Tony Goldson, elected vice-chairman.

Both the role of chairman and leader of the new authority are intended to be rotated during the next year to ensure representation by both councils during 2018-19.

East Suffolk will be the largest district council in the country with a population of 240,000 people.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists