New mayor elected as town council make-up is unveiled

Alice Taylor is the new mayor of Lowestoft. Picture: Courtesy of Lowestoft Town Council

Alice Taylor is the new mayor of Lowestoft. Picture: Courtesy of Lowestoft Town Council - Credit: Archant

A new mayor has been elected to serve Lowestoft.

The new mayor and a new deputy mayor were elected at the annual general meeting of Lowestoft Town Council on Tuesday, May 14.

A Lowestoft Town Council spokesman said: "Cllr Alice Taylor was elected as town mayor and Cllr Peter Lang as deputy mayor."

Mrs Taylor will now wear the mayoral robes after being elected as the mayor of Lowestoft by the town council for the municipal year as she replaces former mayor Ian Graham.

Following the town council elections, 19 councillors attended the annual meeting this week.

You may also want to watch:

The town council spokesman added: "Cllrs Sue Barnard, Alan Green, Peter Knight, Amanda Frost and Peter Collecott will chair the Assets Inclusion and Development, Finance and Governance, Planning and Environment, Personnel and CCTV committees respectively."

One seat on the council remains vacant and applications for co-option to be a councillor for the Elmtree ward will be considered when the town council meets on May 28.

Most Read

The spokesman added: "The new councillors will now contribute to the work of the town council to manage and improve facilities and services for the people of Lowestoft as well as developing a Neighbourhood Plan for the town."

? For full details of how to apply to be a councillor for the Elmtree ward contact the town council on 0330 053 6019, with submissions by May 21.

? Earlier this month, people went to the polls to vote in various wards for the Lowestoft Town Council elections.

Here is the full rundown of the Lowestoft Town Council election results for the contested seats:

Ward Candidate Votes

Gunton Sue Barnard 634 (elected)

Gunton Crispin Hook 327

St Margarets East Colin Butler 646 (elected)

St Margarets East Jen Jones 454

St Margarets East David Youngman 517 (elected)

Harbour and Normanston Steve Ardley 1153 (elected)

Harbour and Normanston Tara Carlton 1163 (elected)

Harbour and Normanston Neil Coleby 1034

Harbour and Normanston Tracey Eastwood 1206 (elected)

Harbour and Normanston Ian Graham 1024

Harbour and Normanston Peter Knight 1110 (elected)

Harbour and Normanston Keith Patience 1208 (elected)

Harbour and Normanston Andy Pearce 1108 (elected)

Kirkley Amanda Frost 819 (elected)

Kirkley Peter Hadden 157

Kirkley Jacqueline Hardie 478 (elected)

Kirkley Mark Moran 252

Kirkley Clare Stachan 440

Kirkley Alex Taylor 392

Kirkley Alice Taylor 561 (elected)

The councillors elected in the May 2019 elections are as follows:

Gunton ward - Sue Barnard

St Margarets East - Colin Butler and David Youngman

St Margarets West (uncontested) - Peter Collecott

Harbour and Normanston - Steve Ardley, Tara Carlton, Tracey Eastwood, Peter Knight, Keith Patience and Andy Pearce

Kirkley - Amanda Frost, Jacqueline Hardie and Alice Taylor

Pakefield (uncontested) - Robert Breakspear, Alan Green and John Pitts

Elmtree (uncontested) - Peter Lang and Nick Webb

Tom Crisp (uncontested) - Graham Parker

Full details of the councillors representing your ward can be found on the Town Council website at

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter