Ben Sallis on top form to take Waveney Windows Trophy

PUBLISHED: 16:12 19 July 2012

Nigel Whitlam's F1 race boat. Picture: Fred Emeny

Nigel Whitlam's F1 race boat. Picture: Fred Emeny


Thursday night's powerboat racing was to see a large entry of boats take part in the regular weekly races at the Oulton Broad.

The weather was kind to the event and even the glimpse of sunshine was to welcome the large crowd that had come to watch the high octane sport.

Junior racing was to see the three regular competitors of Thomas Mantripp, Ben Sallis and Leon Wigg race over the three heats of six laps.

This week’s trophy was the Waveney Windows Trophy. Ben Sallis was on top form taking two wins and collecting a third position in the final heat. Leon Wigg made it a collective of three second positions with Thomas Mantripp finishing two races in third place and an almost dead heat with Leon Wigg. The overall placings of the night was Ben Sallis in first place second was Leon Wigg and third Thomas Mantripp.

Hydroplanes had a field of ten boats to race for the prestigious Daily Mirror group handicap trophy which has now been raced for 70 years.

Wayne Turner in his 250cc was on top form all evening winning all three heats. Wayne was determined not to be beaten by the nine other drivers and on one lap posted the fastest ever time for a 250cc boat in the history of the club, beating Julian Codling’s previous lap record.

Wayne set a time of 37.53 seconds round the two buoy race course. Other drivers out to stop him were David Jones and Peter Rix in their 500cc outfits. A strong field of OSY400 drivers and Paul Jillings in his outboard chased Turner for most of the evening. The overall win went to Beccles driver Wayne Turner with Paul Jillings in second and third place going to David Jones.

Sportsboats was to see a large turnout of the Big two litre cats.

The ICS racing boat this week was raced by Philip Elder. Carl Wigg was once again racing in the distinctive black and orange F2. Barry Hall once again was racing in his new Hall outfit. Andy Griffiths had made the long trip from Bristol to race his F2 and Thursday night was also to see the return of the much loved F1 boat of Nigel Whitlam.

The Big Cats were joined once again by the monohull driver of Matt Proctor and The F4 boats of Brian Shulver, Scott Curtis, John Masters and David Moore.

The Big cats were originally split from the smaller sports boats. Andy Griffiths in his first race of the 2012 season won the first heat with Barry Hall from Ipswich finishing second and third place went to Rookie driver Philip Elder.

The two remaining races were to see the Big Cats join the rest of the sports boat field but the overall winner of the Stewart Patterson trophy was Barry Hall. Second went to Philip Elder and third went to Nigel Whitlam also in his first race of 2012 season.

The smaller outfits in the sports boat class running for the Marshalls trophy was to see David Moore win his first heat but sadly it was to be short lived as he split the hull and sank in the pits putting an end to his evening of racing.

John Masters also had a miserable evening with one non finish in heat one seeing him not race for the rest of the night. Norwich driver Scott Curtis was running in an engine in heat one in preparation for the national event in the Midlands over the weekend.

Scott however was up to race speed by the second race and won heat two. Heat three was however was to see the monohull driver take the victory over Curtis. The overall results were first Matt Proctor second Scott Curtis and third Brian Shulver.

The LOBMBC club was represented in the fourth round of the National Championship at Kingsbury Water Park in the Midlands. With Scott Curtis taking the win for the F4 Class, Mark Williams winning the Monohull class. Wayne Turner won the Hydro Class, Jamie Marr was the winner of the OSY400s and Thomas Mantripp was the club’s only GT15 entry finishing in a very creditable second position.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal