Godric CC success for Dennington

PUBLISHED: 11:20 06 September 2014

Paul Dennington

Paul Dennington


The Godric CC club 25-mile time trial was also billed as the Velo Club Baracchi championship at this distance, so some of the fastest riders in the club were there.

Paul Dennington won the club championship with 1-00:40 in a close tussle with Mark Titch Richards (1-00:57) and George Kerridge (1-01:06).

The club’s second-claim lady members, Nicki Hawkes and Jenny Anderson, fought out the ladies’ championship with a win for Hawkes (1-06:11) from Anderson (1-08:54).

The course was on the A143 on two laps between Bungay and the Redenhall roundabout, with quite a strong westerly headwind when riding towards Redenhall.

The fastest rider was Graham Sparkes of Mulbarton VC with 57:36, challenged by Philip Hargreaves of VC Norwich, with Dennington third.

John Swanbury and Ali Banks had no expectations of winning the championship so they rode the tandem instead, achieving 1-02:43.

Paul Dennington also won the last Diss CC club 10 of the year at Billingford outright with 22:44. He said that in the downhill dash with a tailwind to the finishing line he touched 40mph.

The strong winds of the day had abated slightly and as often happens, the wind fell away just after the event, but during the ride the headwind to the turn at the Needham roundabout was still hard.

Lee Shipp of Diss was second in 23:03. Carlton Colville rider Richard Hill of Great Yarmouth CC achieved 24:50 for fifth place.

Swanbury and Banks had a mechanical problem riding the tandem in this event, when the two chains both came off during a gear change. They stopped and sorted it out, finishing in 25:43.

Dennington also rode the excellent time, 22:53, in the last evening Great Yarmouth CC club 10 of the year, for first place.

The winner, Joe Skipper of Team Pedal Revolution NCA, set a new course record of 21:18. James Trenchard of Godric CC was third in 21:57.

Other times were Mark Titch Richards 23:41, Darren Newman 25:23, Ali Banks 26:02, Mike Bretton 27:14, Nathan Ayers 28:06, Joe Reynolds 28:42 and Richard Allen 29:14.

Chris Womack of VCB was the quickest of the VCB trio in the Stowmarket and District CC open 10 on the A14 between Rougham and Woolpit, with a 24:19 result.

Swanbury was down on his usual form, with 26:18 and John Thompson had a good ride with 27:53.

The winner was David McGaw of the Cambridge CC with 20:35.

This Sunday the VCB will stage the Baracchi Trophy two-up time trial within the Great Yarmouth CC 25-mile club time trial at 9.30am on the Somerleyton Course.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal