K&P FC: Top season for young Royals

PUBLISHED: 12:16 28 May 2010 | UPDATED: 17:28 06 July 2010

BRINGING the curtain down on another successful season, a glittering three nights of presentations for Kirkley & Pakefield FC's youth section have been held.

BRINGING the curtain down on another successful season, a glittering three nights of presentations for Kirkley & Pakefield FC's youth section have been held.

With 26 boys and girls teams running from U9 to U16 playing competitive league football, the youth section also boasts six teams at U7 and U8 level showcasing football for all.

These 32 sides represented the club in league and cup competitions at youth level this season - and earlier this month they were rewarded at the annual presentation evening, which were split into three nights of awards for the various age groups in a specially erected marquee alongside the existing Walmer Road clubhouse.

With more than 1,000 players, parents, staff, fans and families descending on the venue, special honours were handed out to the respective players' player of the year and manager's player of the year at each age group, with supporters player of the year, most improved player's honours and clubman of the year also handed out.

27 youngsters - ranging from U11A to U16A level - collected special 100 appearance awards and these were: Henry Mower (U11A), Oliver Howes (U11B), Thomas Hutchinson (U11C), Lewis Smart-Burgess (U12A), Alex Peek, Owen Snell, Rhys Brown (U12B), Alfie Edwards, Brent Goldspink, Lewis Whiteside, Rory Grant (U12C), Alex Carter, Brandon Allen, Brandon Cable, Mark Kirwan, Matthew Hawes (U13B), Adam Wilkins, Alex Mackerrall, Blake Bartram, Gary Sherratt, Jacob Wilson (U13C), Robbie Springer (U14B), Louis Carr (U15B), Alex Hill, Brad Wilson, Brett Wilson, Tom Murray (U16A).

Eight teenagers picked up 150-appearance awards and these were: Cobi Edwards, Kaiden Goldspink, Lee Parsons, Thomas Reeve (U14A), Daniel Thurston, Ryan Quantrill (U15A), Jarred Blake, Liam hall (U15B).

There were also five special awards to youngsters from the girls' sides, who collected honours for four years long service with the club, and these were: Chloe Mauzer, Lauren Broadley (U12), Sarah Mager, Isabelle Brown, Cassie Thompson (U15).

And taking the top honour on the night, there was a fitting presentation of the annual Clive Craft Achievers Award to three worthy recipients.

This special award, handed out for only the fifth season following the tragic death of football-loving Mr Craft in 2006 in an offshore accident, was presented to Jackie Green, Alison Besford and Jo Besford for all their tireless work off the field.

And taking the plaudits on the nights of entertainment, the youth section's achievements were honoured as four K&P teams were nominated by their opponents in winning the divisional Norfolk and Suffolk Youth League sporting award.

These were the U7A, U8B, U12A and U12C teams.

Top honours were also celebrated, as various teams were honoured in either being league or cup winners and competition runners-up.

These were the U9A double winning league and cup winners, U9B team who were league runners-up, U10B team who were league winners, U11A cup runners-up, U11B league runners-up and shield runners-up, U11C league runners-up, U12B league runners-up, U15 girls league runners-up, and the triumphant treble-winning U16A team who collected the league winners trophy, were shield winners and also Ipswich and Suffolk Open Cup winners.

The club wishes to extend its thanks to all those who have put in time and effort this season as well as the sponsors whose donations have enabled all teams to turn out in many new kits and compete this season.

Kirkley & Pakefield FC are soon to be recruiting players for next season's teams. If you are interested and would like more details, contact numbers as follows: John Pitts - mini-soccer and nine versus nine at under 11 on 01502 567362, Barrie Atkins all 11 a-side football on 01502 560932 and Mervyn Durrant general secretary on 01502 564853.

Please add Kirkley & Pakefield FC Roll of Honour 2009/10 in separate box

U7A Players' player Jerrell Barbor, parents player Josh Owers; U7B Spectators player Ryan Howes, most improved Oliver Limburn; U7C Players' player Daniel Munro, managers player Kyle Collins; U8A Spectators player Jack Howes, parents player Jamie Besford; U8B Players' player Jack Skidmore, manager's player Max Helmer; U8C Players' player Owen Gallagher, manager's player Owen Gallagher; U9A Players' player Connor Wicks/Ray Scott-Urry, manager's player Ray Scott-Urry; U9B Players' player Cordell Thompson, manager's player Casey Wilson/Joseph Moyse; U9C Players' player Morgan Griffin, manager's player Morgan Kenny; U9D Players' player Ryan Marshall, manager's player Lewis Reason; U10A Players' player Hadyn Allen manager's player Nathan Woods; U10B Parents' player Harry Blaxell, manager's player Daniel Youngman; U10C Players' player Jacob Layzell, manager's player Callum Swatman, U10D Players' player Ross McWalter, manager's player Kain Reeve; U10E Supporters player Simon Muirhead/Tyler Cook, manager's player Jake Block/Jack Cooper; U10F Players' player Kyle Gallagher, manager's player Callum Mager; U11A Players' player George Parkin, most improved player Lewis Barley, manager's player Will Flower/Max Davies; U11B Supporters player Lewis Crawford, Players' player Thomas Davies; U11C Players' player Connor Norman, manager's player Connor Norman, parents player Lewis Hunt, clubman of the year Connell Ross; U11D Most improved player Jack Hammond, manager's player Owen Blowers; U12A Players' player Alex Brown, manager's player Billy Coughlin; U12B Players' player Alex Peek, manager's player Kieran Cook; U12C Players' player George Baker, manager's player Curtis Hambly; U12 Girls Players' player Lauren Broadley, manager's player Chelsea Barwise; U13B Players' player Noah Bligh, manager's player Ben Mann; U13C Players' player Ben Reynolds, manager's player Keagen Wheatley; U14A Players' player Tom Jaggard, manager's player Jake Pilgrim; U14B Players' player Ryan Hill, manager's player Daniel Long; U15A Players' player Jordan Rodwell, manager's player Jordan Rodwell; U15B Players' player Daniel Tyrell/Chris Jones, manager's player Owen Cropley; U15 Girls Players' player Poppy Tiffen, manager's player Ellie Sannerude, most improved Shannon Taylor; U16A Players' player Ryan Crisp, supporters player Charlie Mattocks.

Clive Craft Achievers' Award 2010 - Jackie Green, Alison Besford and Jo Besford.

Team honours 2009/10 - U7A Sporting Award Norfolk Suffolk Youth League; U8B Sporting Award Norfolk Suffolk Youth League; U9A League winners and cup winners N&SYL; U9B League runners-up N&SYL; U10B League winners N&SYL; U11A Cup runners-up N&SYL; U11B League runners-up and shield runners-up N&SYL; U11C League runners-up N&SYL; U12A Sporting Award N&SYL; U12B League runners-up N&SYL; U12C Sporting Award N&SYL; U15 Girls League runners-up N&SYL; U16A League winners and shield winners N&SYL and cup winners Ipswich and Suffolk Open Cup.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal