Clean sweep of awards for Kirkley and Pakefield youngster Haylock

PUBLISHED: 09:46 18 May 2018

Award winners at Kirkley and Pakefield FC's annual awards evening at Walmer Road pose for the camera. Picture: MICK HOWES

Award winners at Kirkley and Pakefield FC's annual awards evening at Walmer Road pose for the camera. Picture: MICK HOWES


The Ivy House Country Hotel was the venue Kirkley & Pakefield’s annual player of the year’ awards presentation dinner.

Although well attended it was disappointing to see some teams from the club not being represented.

The evening opened with chairman Paul Underdown giving thanks to all managers, players, committee and the large group of helpers.

There was special praise for secretary David Hackney and groundsman Michael Leeds for producing a superb pitch all season, both unpaid voluntary workers, and to all the players.

Ever-present 17-year-old Kyle Haylock was the evening’s star, scooping the four major awards, the first team players’ player, managers’ player, managers’ young player and supporters’ player.

Matthew Wilson took the player with the most impact and influence award.

The first team finished 10th place in the Thurlow Nunn Premier Division after a poor start to the season with several injuries making it tough going.

Manager Mark Willis, who was awarded the Gary French Memorial Cup, thanked the committee for supporting him, and also his players and management team of James Hutchinson, Carl Poppy and physio Jason Wright. For the Reserves Callum Bell won both players’ and managers’ player awards with young Harry Creamer scooping the most improved player trophy.

Matty Lay, the A team manager, and assistant Bryan David gave out the A team awards to Danny Baker (players’ player), Will Flower (manager’s player), James Baldwin (most improved player) and Neil Harris (clubman).

Bryan Sturman gave his Walking Footballers awards to John Millar (players’ player), Peter Denny (manager’s player), referee Michael Creamer (clubman) and Jack Delf (Bobby Hurry Memorial Shield).

The clubs two under 18s Youth Teams then had their awards presented by their managers with the K&PFC winners being Harry Creamer (players’ player), captain Jack Hutchinson (manager’s player) and James Baldwin (most improved player).

The AFC Royals awards went to Hugo Colby (players’ player), Casey Wilson (manager’s player) and Sam Sallis (most improved player).

Director of football Martin Hubble awarded the Jimmy Armes Shield for contributions to the club over the season by a non-player and the Jack Dale Memorial Cup for clubman persons of the year to Paul Underdown and his wife Louise for their outstanding contributionsb since taking over in their various positions at the club.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal