Search

Kirkley & Pakefield kick off new campaign with home FA Cup tie

PUBLISHED: 00:58 04 August 2017

Action from Saturday's pre-season friendly between Kirkley & Pakefield and Beccles Town. Picture: Bryan Grint

Action from Saturday's pre-season friendly between Kirkley & Pakefield and Beccles Town. Picture: Bryan Grint

Archant

The season proper starts for Kirkley & Pakefield FC on Saturday when they take on Saffron Walden Town in an extra preliminary eound FA Cup match at Walmer Road (3pm).

If this match ends in a draw a replay will be at Saffron Walden next Tuesday evening (7.45pm).

If no replay is required the Royals will be at Walmer Road on Tuesday for their first Thurlow Nunn Premier Division League match of the season against Gorleston (7.45pm).

These two intriguing matches start a long and exciting 2017/18 season and hopefully all supporters will give both matches their full support. The club is also open to any person or organisation who would like to sponsor a home first team this season.

The Royals concluded their pre-season matches with a 3-0 win over newly-promoted Beccles Town on Saturday at the 3G Arena. Tuesday night saw their final preparations against Hellesdon on the main pitch. With excellent turnouts at the friendlies and on Tuesday/Thursday training nights all teams are now gearing up for the new campaign.

Royals’ Reserves, who will be playing in the Anglian Combination Division One, urgently require a club linesman for the forthcoming season. If anybody is interested contact Mark Willis or Wayne Twomlow at the club.

Kirkley & Pakefield fixtures 2017/18 (3pm unless otherwise stated, subject to alteration):

Sat, Aug 5 FA Cup Ex-Preliminary Round Saffron Walden (H); Tues, Aug 8 Gorleston (H) 7.45pm; Sat, Aug 12 Haverhill Rvrs (H); Sat, Aug 19 FA Cup Preliminary Round (if through) Barking (A); Tues, Aug 22 Thetford Tn (A) 7.45pm; Sat, Aug 26 Haverhill Borough (H); Tues, Aug 29 Felixstowe & Walton Utd (A) 7.45pm; Sat, Sept 2 FA Cup 1st Qualifying Round or Newmarket Tn (A); Sat, Sept 9 Godmanchester Rvrs (H); Tues, Sept 12 Stowmarket Tn (H) 7.45pm; Sat, Sept 16 FA Cup 2nd Qualifying Round or Saffron Walden Tn (A); Tues, Sept 19 League Cup 1st Round Norwich Utd Res (H) 7.45pm; Sat, Sept 23 FA Vase 2nd Qualifying Round Burnham Ramblers (H); Tues, Sept 26 Gorleston (A) 7.45pm; Sat, Sept 30 Ely City (A); Tues, Oct 3 Thetford Tn (H) 7.45pm; Sat, Oct 7 Coggeshall Tn (H); Fri, Oct 13 Felixstowe & Walton Utd (H) 7.45; Tues, Oct 17 Great Yarmouth Tn (A) 7.45pm; Sat, Oct 21 FA Vase 1st Round or Haverhill Rvrs (A); Tues, Oct 24 Walsham-le-Willows (H) 7.45pm; Sat, Oct 28 Hadleigh Utd (A); Tues, Oct 31 League Cup (if through) Gorleston (H) 7.45pm; Sat, Nov 4 Newmarket Tn (H); Sat, Nov 11 Wivenhoe Tn (A); Sat, Nov 18 Saffron Walden Tn (H); Sat, Nov 25 Stanway Rvrs (H); Sat, Dec 2 Stowmarket Tn (A); Tues, Dec 5 Fakenham Tn (A) 7.45pm; Sat, Dec 9 Ipswich Wdrs (H); Sat, Dec 16 Long Melford (A); Sat, Dec 23 Brantham Ath (H); Tues, Dec 26 Wroxham (H) 11am; Sat, Dec 30 Walsham-le-Willows (A); Sat, Jan 6 Wivenhoe Tn (H); Sat, Jan 13 Haverhill Borough (A); Sat, Jan 20 Ipswich Wdrs (A); Sat, Jan 27 FC Clacton (H); Sat, Feb 3 Histon Tn (A); Sat, Feb 10 Hadleigh Utd (H); Sat, Feb 24 Coggeshall Tn (A); Sat, Mar 3 Long Melford (H); Sat, Mar 10 Godmanchester Rvrs (A); Sat, Mar 17 Histon Tn (H); Sat, Mar 24 Brantham Ath (A); Fri, Mar 30 Great Yarmouth Tn (H) 3pm; Mon, Apr 2 Wroxham (A); Sat, Apr 7 FC Clacton (A); Sat, Apr 14 Fakenham Tn (H); Sat, Apr 28 Ely City (H); Sat, May 5 Stanway Rvrs (A).

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists