Lowestoft Railway celebrate at end of season awards

PUBLISHED: 16:16 26 April 2012

winner: Jason Harness presenting the award in memory of his father to Thomas Yallop.

winner: Jason Harness presenting the award in memory of his father to Thomas Yallop.


Lowestoft Railway Hockey Club held their annual dinner and presentation evening at the Winelodge in Oulton Broad recently.

After an excellent dinner, which was enjoyed by nearly 90 members and their guests, club chairman Andy Hepburn presented the awards. There were mixed fortunes for the club’s teams this season, but a time for celebration for the men’s 2nd team who won promotion from East League Division 6NE, under the guidance of captain Steve Shaw.

This year saw the introduction of the Bob Harness award in memory of one of the founder members of the Club who sadly passed away last year. Bob started the club back in 1958 along with a few friends and was Honorary secretary and fixture secretary for almost 50 years. Bob was passionate about hockey, especially the youth of the slub, which he regarded as the future, and it seemed a fitting tribute that this award should be presented to one of the junior members. Presenting the award was Bob’s son Jason who also has a long association with the club and is now one of the leading coaches in the area.

Earlier in the day the club held matches at The East Point Academy. First the ladies took to the astro, with the first team playing their second XI. In a predictably one sided game the first team emerged victorious with young Becky Howes scoring two well taken goals. Then it was the turn of the men with their current first team playing against a “legends” team made up of Railway players from the past. The men’s first team just managed to hold on for a win in a very tight and competitive game. Two goals from Ollie Payne helped the first team into a 3-0 lead, but then two late goals and a missed penalty flick from the legends set up a tense and action packed finale.

Money was collected from match fees and donations throughout the day and in the evening, with a total of almost £550 being raised towards the Owen’s Wish2Walk appeal, the chosen charity of the Harness family.

The award winners were:

Men – 1st XI: Players’ Player - Gary Randlesome; Captain’s Player – Ross Trindall. 2nd XI: Players’ Player – Nathan Keating; Captain’s Player – Kevin Barnard. Most Improved Junior Boy – Thomas Yallop; Best Attendance for a Junior Boy – Jake Marshall. Top Goalscorer – Dave Berry.

Ladies – 1st XI: Players’ Player – Janine Tizzard; Captain’s Player – Janine Tizzard; 2nd XI: Players’ Player – Lily Palmer; Captain’s Player – Olivia Smith. Most Improved Junior Girl – Becky Howes; Best Attendance for a Junior Girl – Imogen Lynham & Katy Densham; Top Goalscorer – Hannah Atkin. Chairman’s Award – Gary Bloodworth; Joan Newman Award – Ellen Hutchings; Bob Harness Award – Thomas Yallop.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal