Lowestoft Town ace Bishop strikes as top Norfolk Cricket Alliance wicket-taker

Leading wicket takers Marcus Bishop and Simon Key with (left), Matthew Conway from Dipple and Conway

Leading wicket takers Marcus Bishop and Simon Key with (left), Matthew Conway from Dipple and Conway, and John Tythcott, vice-chairman Norfolk Cricket Alliance. Picture Credit Newsmakers PR - Credit: Archant

Lowestoft Town bowler Marcus Bishop lined up among the stars of the Dipple & Conway Opticians Norfolk Cricket Alliance when the league honoured its heroes.

Although the season turned out disappointingly for Lowestoft with a mid-table finish in Division One, it was not for the want of trying on behalf of Bishop.

His 38 strikes left him level with Norwich A's Simon Key as joint leading wicket-taker, earning both players an invitation to the annual awards ceremony at the Wensum Valley Hotel and Country Club.

Southwold also had a place thanks to some of their youngest players after their under-11s finished runners-up to Vauxhall Mallards in the junior section.

Fakenham were Club of the Year following their first Premier Division title success since 2011.

You may also want to watch:

Among the individuals honoured included Vauxhall Mallards veteran Carl Amos.

At 42 he continued to show the quality that has made him a legend of Norfolk cricket by finishing as the league's leading run scorer with a total of 1,074. Andy Dale took the wicket-keeping award with 30 dismissals for Swaffham.

Most Read

Alliance chairman Peter Thomas, who helped present the trophies with Matthew Conway, Emma Conway and Neil McDonald, said: 'There's no doubt that the input of Dipple & Conway has made a big difference over the past two years with the introduction of the player of the month awards further adding to the level of interest.'

He added: 'We also pride ourselves on our youth section which is getting youngsters involved in cricket, gaining confidence and even playing in adult teams, which is good for the future of the sport.'

The awards evening was compered by Anglia Television presenter and keen cricketer Jonathan Wills.

Dipple & Conway Opticians Norfolk Cricket Alliance Award Winners: Premier Division winners Fakenham, runner-up Sprowston. Division One winners Garboldisham, runner-up North Runcton. Division Two winners Norwich A, runner-up Thetford. Division Three winners Vauxhall Mallards A, runner-up Brooke A. Division Four winners Winterton, runner-up Mundford. Division Five winners Martham, runner-up Hethersett & Tas Valley A. Division Six winners Bircham, runner-up Bradenham A. Under-9s winners Brooke, runner-up Horsford. Under-11s winners Vauxhall Mallards, runner-up Southwold. Under-13s winners Acle, runner-up Cromer. Under-15s winners Swardeston CEYMS, runner-up Acle. Leading run scorer Carl Amos (Vauxhall Mallards). Leading wicket-takers Marcus Bishop (Lowestoft) and Simon Key (Norwich). Leading wicket-keeper Andy Dale (Swaffham). Dipple & Conway Players of the Month: May, Jasper Payne (Swaffham), June, Robin Yates (Mundford), July, Harrison Futter (Fakenham), Aug, Ben Coote (North Runcton). Club of the Year Fakenham.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter