Paul Dennington is VC Baracchi’s rider of the year

PUBLISHED: 06:14 23 November 2018

Freda Randall presenting the Ernie Randall trophy to Paul Dennington.

Freda Randall presenting the Ernie Randall trophy to Paul Dennington.


At Velo Club Baracchi’s annual prizegiving Paul Dennington was voted by members as Rider of the Year.

Paul Wright receiving his time trial certificate.Paul Wright receiving his time trial certificate.

Dennington was club champion at 15, 30 and 50 miles, second in all but one of the veteran club championships and second in both the club and veteran best all-rounder competitions.

For his other contributions to the sport, Dennington was awarded the Charles Grimmer Memorial Trophy.

His 30-mile time of 33.31 was a new club record and with Keith Wink he won the Baracchi Trophy for two-up 25-mile time trial. Dennington also won the veteran 10 and 50-mile scratch trophies. Freda Randall presented to him the Ernie Randall Memorial Trophy for the latter.

Dominic Austrin of Great Yarmouth CC, the club’s guest of honour and a popular cycling photographer, presented most of the awards, including the Holmes Cup to club-mate Jenny Anderson.

Chris Womack (left) receiving one of his trophies from Dominic Austrin.Chris Womack (left) receiving one of his trophies from Dominic Austrin.

Lucas He, who is now a Cambridge student and could not attend, had set a new club junior record of 20.01 and was the club and junior champion at both 10 and 25 miles. He also won the club short course best all-rounder competition, junior rider of the year and was junior BAR with 28.4mph.

Lucas’s father Alex He won the Bernard Dale memorial hill climb trophy and the Freewheel trophy.

Paul Hayward was the club best all-rounder as well as taking second place in the short course BAR and the veteran 25-mile scratch trophy. He was awarded the MTB trophy.

The club’s top veteran Chris Womack won the veteran BAR. The veteran 10, 50 and 100-mile championships and the club 100-mile championship.

Dominic Austrin (left) presenting the Rider of the Year trophy to Paul Dennington Picture: JOHN SWANBURYDominic Austrin (left) presenting the Rider of the Year trophy to Paul Dennington Picture: JOHN SWANBURY

Paul Wright earned the club and veteran road race championships and Mark Saunders won the Athletes Cup for the non-aero time trial.

John Swanbury was 25-mile veteran champion and with Ali Banks was awarded the 10-mile tandem trophy. Their rides at 15 and 30 miles were new club records as well as national age records. Swanbury and Banks also won the handicap version of the Baracchi Trophy.

The Jane Travers trophy for the May Day 10 went to Rebecca Johnson of Fusion RT Veloperformance whose 22.16 time was a new women’s course record.

The club’s distance trophies for women were all awarded to Jenny Anderson as a second claim member of the club. Liam Gentry won the Keith Stephens trophy for duathlon.

Club chairman Brian Boxall and the gathering of the club’s present and former members also congratulated 15 riders on their time trial certificates for recording best times.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal