Lowestoft Scores Race attracts a record field of over 300

The start of the Lowestoft Scores Race junior race Picture: WAVENEY VALLEY AC

The start of the Lowestoft Scores Race junior race Picture: WAVENEY VALLEY AC - Credit: Archant

The 23rd staging of the Lowestoft Scores Race, which took place on Sunday, had a record number of entries as 306 runners - up from last year's 255, tackled one of the region's toughest events.

The race, organised by Waveney Valley AC, started in the High Street and followed a route along the north sea wall, Gunton Cliff and all of the town's historic Scores before finishing at the Triangle Market, covering a distance of approximately 4.75 miles.

Michael Eccles, the winner from the last two years, was unable to compete through injury, and a new name was added to the roll of honour as Stephen Balfe of City of Norwich AC crossed the line first in 28:12.

Jo Andrews of Bungay Black Dog RC, the 2016 winner, was first lady in a time of 30:32.

Waveney Valley's Zoe Chase, Harriet Lyman and Becky Langford were prize winners for first ladies team and Bill Kingaby was the award winner for first in the M65+ age category, with 46 members of Waveney Valley competing in the senior race.

You may also want to watch:

In the junior race, over 1.4 miles, the boys' winner of the 9-12 age group was Waveney's William Browne in 8:53, with club mates Lewis Barnes (8:55) and Josh Smith (8:57) second and third respectively. Billy Girling won the boys' 13-15 age group in 8:04, with Waveney's George Browne second in 8:07. The girls' 9-12 winner was Tess Andrews (BBDRC) in 9:11 and the girls' 13-15 winner was Alice Daniels (CONAC) in 9:03.

Additional combined age group results for Waveney were: 6 Thomas Spurgeon 8:52, 15 Vaughn Beckham 9:17, 17 James Burgess 9:26, 19 James McAllen 9:33, 20 Theo Chong 9:33, 29 Nathan Littlejohns 10:01, 32 Gabby Wright 10:15, 33 Agatha Gouldby 10:16, 35 Jude-Benson Smith 10:28, 38 Benjamin Littlejohns 10:46, 39 Reuben Colbridge 10:46, 40 Cruz Harewood 10:53, 41 Henry Reynolds 10:57, 42 Ana Colbridge 10:57, 44 Charlie Mudd 11:29, 49 Ruby Benson-Smith 12:48, 51 Wilf Gouldby 13:04, 54 Callum Dootson 13:55.

Most Read

At the prize presentation, race organiser Tim Earl thanked Birds Eye for its sponsorship and Lowestoft Vision and Sportlink for their support. Thanks were also given to Christchurch for race facilities, plus all of the marshals, first aiders, traffic management officers and helpers who ensured the event was a success.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus