Westrup makes his Mark

PUBLISHED: 08:00 04 July 2008 | UPDATED: 20:46 05 July 2010

MARK Westrup of Velo Club Baracchi put in a very strong performance in the Redgrave Road Race, finishing in tenth place in a very closely-contested sprint finish.

MARK Westrup of Velo Club Baracchi put in a very strong performance in the Redgrave Road Race, finishing in tenth place in a very closely-contested sprint finish.

He had stirred it up earlier in the race with a special effort leading to a sole breakaway on lap one, but none of the breaks made in the race were successful.

As all the riders left in the race charged for the finish line, Westrup was unfortunate to find himself boxed in and following the wrong wheel, but in the last few yards he fought hard for his place.

The winner, Alan Lovegrove of Team Welwyn, came to the fore as a gap opened for him just before the line, just beating Robert Hunt of API and Jonny Ramsay and Trevor Banham, both of Diss & District CC.

Pat Harbord, Nick Esser, Ian McCluskey, Ben McCluskey and Nick Esser also rode for the Baracchi club. The McCluskey father and son both punctured and the other two Baracchi riders finished further down the bunch.

Lowestoft rider Joe Skipper of Lotto Olympia Team Interbike continued his good form with fifth place in the Shaftesbury CC Road Race, which was won by Dan Staite of Python RT.

Skipper was supported by his team-mate Dennis Van Gaveren, who finished seventh. Only 22 riders finished, the rest being withdrawn with two laps to go as they were too far behind.

The results of the 100-mile time trial in the strong winds, reported last week, mean that Velo Club Baracchi's 2008 100-mile champions are Ian McCluskey and Tracy Prewer.

In the midweek CC Breckland 10-mile open time trial on the A11 there were some good times but the going was far from easy on the headwind return.

John Dupen was the fastest Baracchi rider with 22:50, followed by Paul Clarke 24:39, John Swanbury 24:51 and John Thompson 27:44.

The top places went to Andre Dyason (PCA Ciclos Uno) 20:57, Alan Newark (Planet X) 21:05 and James Eman (Anglia Velo) 21:29. Laura Robinson (CC Breckland) was the fastest woman with 24:25.

Paul Bedford thought it might be fun to ride the Gt Yarmouth CC club 10-mile time trial and found himself to be the only rider. Battling through new tar-spray and chippings on the roads he completed the course decently on the right side of “evens” (20mph) to announce his return to competition.

Though the Godric CC and Diss & District CC club time trials attract a good entry there is a crisis further east. The Velo Club Baracchi Wednesday events are suspended this year because of the lack of interest, as most riders prefer other evenings or other venues.

The Godric CC open 10-mile event on the Earsham course on Saturday drew out a winning ride in the women's category from VC Baracchi's Jenny Anderson with 27:19.

In the Godric CC open 50-mile time trial on Sunday, Prewer of VC Baracchi achieved 2-31:26 and Thompson did not finish. The fastest woman was again Laura Robinson with 2-14:02.

Many thought it hard, with a significant headwind on the westbound leg from Stockton to Needham, though by contrast there was a pleasant tailwind on the return stretch, which was helpful up the hills from Needham and towards Stockton. Ian Cammish of Planet X won with 1-52:02.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal