Youngster Lucas He is VC Baracchi’s rider of the year

PUBLISHED: 07:54 24 November 2017

Chairman Brian Boxall presenting the Rider of the Year trophy to Lucas He. Picture: John Swanbury

Chairman Brian Boxall presenting the Rider of the Year trophy to Lucas He. Picture: John Swanbury


Lucas He, Velo Club Baracchi’s exceptional junior rider, was given the club’s Rider of the Year award at the club’s annual presentation evening in a ballot of members.

This award was presented by the club chairman Brian Boxall, who had given members six nominations for the award.

The guests of honour were Pete and Pam Milner of Lowestoft, the Godric CC timekeepers who also officiate at many open events locally.

Pete Milner presented all the other prizes and certificates except for two special awards.

The Bernard Dale hill climb trophy, won by Lucas He, was presented by Bernard Dale’s daughter Jenny Dale and the Ernie Randall 50-mile scratch veteran trophy won by Paul Dennington was presented by Freda Randall.

There were 21 certificates for time trial and road race achievements and the light-hearted Freewheel Trophy was up first, won by Keith Wink for his skills downhill.

Lucas He also won the trophies for 10-mile time trial and junior Rider of the Year. Paul Dennington also won the 30-mile and 50-mile trophies, the Athlete’s 10 and the veterans’ trophies for 10-mile scratch and 30 miles.

Paul Hayward won the 25-mile championship. Chris Womack won the veteran championships at 10, 25 and 50 miles and the veteran BAR with a record aggregate “plus” of 70 minutes and 17 seconds.

Dennington and Keith Wink won the 10-mile tandem trophy with a ride that equalled the club record and the 25-mile trophy went to John Swanbury and Ali Banks.

Mark Richards won the club road race championship and the short course time trial BAR with an average speed of 29.84mph. He was also awarded the Charles Grimmer Memorial Trophy for his valuable contributions to the club organisation.

Second-claim member Jenny Anderson won the ladies’ cups for 10 and 25 miles and Nick Esser won the veteran road race trophy.

Liam Gentry won the Keith Stephens Memorial Trophy for duathlon and Kate Churchill the Women’s Rose Bowl for her support and participation in audax and other long-distance rides. Verity Smith of Stowmarket & District CC was this year’s winner of the Jane Travers Memorial Trophy for this year’s open May Day 10.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Lowestoft Journal. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Lowestoft Journal