Search
Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Sky-high fares, an unreliable service, and cheaper alternative transport options are all being blamed for a significant drop in rail passengers in Great Yarmouth over the last five years.

Read more
Great Yarmouth Borough Council
Saturday, December 8, 2018

More trains than ever are being delayed or cancelled on East Anglia’s rail network as repeated pledges to improve services fall flat.

Read more
Clive Lewis
Wednesday, December 5, 2018

It’s been a torrid year for rail passengers, hit by strikes, timetable changes and now fare increases.

Read more
Network Rail
Sunday, November 25, 2018

Planned engineering work is continuing as part of a major signalling upgrade on the Wherry Lines from Norwich to Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft.

Read more
Network Rail
Saturday, November 24, 2018

Train services on the Ipswich to Lowestoft line have been “severely disrupted” due to signalling problems.

Read more
Greater Anglia
Thursday, October 18, 2018

Rail users will be faced with nine days of disruption from this weekend as signalling system upgrades are carried out.

Read more
Greater Anglia
Saturday, October 13, 2018

Train services running between Ipswich and Lowestoft are returning to normal after fallen trees had blocked the railway line – but disruption is still expected until 7pm.

Read more
Network Rail
Thursday, October 11, 2018

More than five acres of railway sidings are up for grabs with Network Rail looking for new leaseholders for a site in Lowestoft.

Read more
Network Rail
Monday, October 1, 2018

Network Rail will train its sights this autumn on combatting leaves which fall on the line and cause delays.

Read more
Network Rail
Sunday, September 23, 2018

This weekend sees the party conference season move up a gear with the start of the Labour Conference in Liverpool – an event that politicos across the country will be watching closely.

Read more
Norman Lamb
Saturday, September 22, 2018

All lines between Norwich and Lowestoft are blocked following a swing bridge failure.

Read more
Network Rail
Tuesday, September 4, 2018

A £68m signalling upgrade will see no trains run between Great Yarmouth and Reedham for at least six months.

Read more
Greater Anglia
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

A faulty swing bridge means all trains between Lowestoft and Ipswich have been cancelled, with services now starting at Oulton Broad South until the problem is fixed.

Read more
Twitter
Sunday, July 1, 2018

We have just had the driest June on record with just 10% of the average rainfall, leading to some concerns about the threat of a hosepipe ban in East Anglia.

Read more
Network Rail
Thursday, June 28, 2018

Holidaymakers are warning they might not return to a Norfolk gem after getting stranded following failures of three bridges.

Read more
John Packman
Thursday, June 21, 2018

Two failures of the Victoria Road level crossing were not fixed for more than 700 hours - more than 29 days - it has been revealed.

Read more
Network Rail
Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Trains between Lowestoft and Norwich were cancelled yesterday afternoon due to a swing bridge failure.

Read more
Network Rail
Tuesday, May 8, 2018

A familiar face will make the journey to London next week as part of a national initiative to promote rail travel to the region.

Read more
Network Rail
Thursday, April 26, 2018

The rail crossing at Victoria Road, near Oulton Broad South station, which broke three times in three days last week causing chaos for drivers in Lowestoft, has been fixed by Network Rail.

Read more
Twitter
Monday, April 23, 2018

A claim that the Norwich in 90 minutes train time ambition by Greater Anglia could hit the buffers has been refuted by an MP and the train operator.

Read more
Clive Lewis
Sunday, April 22, 2018

The ambition to have 90 minute train times between Norwich and London is in doubt, it has been claimed.

Read more
Network Rail
Saturday, April 21, 2018

When faced with a long train journey, it can often be tricky for commuters to think of how to pass the time.

Read more
Greater Anglia
Thursday, April 19, 2018

The Victoria Road level crossing is once again broken, infuriating drivers in Lowestoft.

Read more
Network Rail
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Trains are running between Lowestoft and Norwich in both directions after disruption due to a failure of the Somerleyton Swing Bridge.

Read more
Network Rail
Sunday, April 15, 2018

A road closure is causing traffic problems at a rail crossing in Oulton Broad.

Read more
Network Rail
Saturday, April 14, 2018

A frustrated commuter who took a train firm to court after claiming he experienced almost 200 delayed journeys in a year has been paid compensation.

Read more
BBC
Friday, March 9, 2018

The rail crossing barriers on a busy road are stuck down again, just three days after the very same fault occurred.

Read more
Network Rail
Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Rail crossing barriers on a busy road are now working properly after an earlier fault caused severe traffic problems.

Read more
Lowestoft Police
Monday, March 5, 2018

The Beast from the East may have passed and the snow may have mostly melted, but the white stuff still needed to be cleared to allow the trains to run.

Read more
Network Rail
Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Train services are expected to run as normal tomorrow after a day of snow disruption.

Read more
Network Rail

Most Read

Local Weather

Sunshine and Showers

Sunshine and Showers

max temp: 9°C

min temp: 5°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the
Lowestoft Journal
e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Lowestoft Journal weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy