Search
Sunday, November 25, 2018

An evening of talks on the history and maritime heritage of Lowestoft has been hailed a success.

Read more
Bob Collis
Saturday, November 24, 2018

It is an “extraordinary story” that started in the wartime skies over Lowestoft and “has now come full circle.”

Read more
Bob Collis
Friday, November 23, 2018

Two town councils have expressed concerns over the removal of historic archives from Lowestoft Record Office and changes to the service.

Read more
Bob Collis
Thursday, November 22, 2018

“Hands off our archives!”

Read more
Bob Collis
Tuesday, October 30, 2018

A group of Vikings made an appearance in Lowestoft – but there was no cause for alarm for onlookers as the invaders were delivering a special message.

Read more
Bob Collis
Monday, October 29, 2018

Members of the Save Our Record Office campaign group have held “a very constructive and useful meeting” with Waveney MP Peter Aldous.

Read more
Peter Aldous
Friday, October 5, 2018

A campaign group have launched their own rival consultation on the future of Lowestoft’s record office.

Read more
Bob Collis
Friday, September 21, 2018

Hopes for key historic artefacts staying in Lowestoft were served another blow today as a consultation was launched.

Read more
Peter Aldous
Tuesday, September 18, 2018

A campaign group has branded a consultation over the future archive facility in north Suffolk as “worthless”.

Read more
Bob Collis
Monday, September 17, 2018

The Heritage Open Days Festival in Lowestoft “far exceeded all our expectations” according to organisers following two weekends of events, tours, and activities celebrating the town’s heritage.

Read more
Bob Collis
Saturday, September 15, 2018

A popular walking group returns to explore Lowestoft’s fascinating history while keeping members fit.

Read more
Bob Collis
Wednesday, August 29, 2018

A new heritage project which will bring to life the stories of lost communities in Suffolk was launched at Britain’s most easterly point yesterday.

Read more
Bob Collis
Friday, July 20, 2018

A campaign group has hit out against potential plans to charge visitors to exhibitions at the new home for Suffolk Archives which would include records from Lowestoft.

Read more
Bob Collis
Friday, July 6, 2018

An informative and enjoyable walk which traced the links of the heritage of a church will help strengthen a bid for Heritage Lottery funding.

Read more
Bob Collis
Monday, June 25, 2018

An author who chronicled the time of George Orwell’s time in Southwold has said the Lowestoft Record Office is an “essential resource.”

Read more
Matthew Hicks
Tuesday, June 12, 2018

A day celebrating the depth and breadth of Lowestoft’s heritage will kick off on Saturday.

Read more
Bob Collis
Friday, May 18, 2018

For 75 years a grave in Lowestoft Cemetery had been marked “Ein Deutscher Soldat”.

Read more
Bob Collis
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

It was a devastating air raid that caused death and destruction.

Read more
Bob Collis
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

A day dedicated to the history of the east coast will delve into the stories and heritage of Lowestoft and the surrounding area.

Read more
Bob Collis
Saturday, February 17, 2018

A popular television star and historian has added his weight to a campaign to save Lowestoft’s record office.

Read more
Bob Collis
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

An initiative encouraging people to discover more about Lowestoft’s past will continue with a look at how the town has been affected by war.

Read more
Bob Collis

Most Read

Local Weather

Sunshine and Showers

Sunshine and Showers

max temp: 9°C

min temp: 5°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

cover

Enjoy the
Lowestoft Journal
e-edition today

Subscribe

Newsletter Sign Up

Lowestoft Journal weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy